Charles Chapman Award

The Charles Chapman Award honors individuals or groups within the marine industry who have made outstanding contributions to the sport of boating for the benefit of the recreational boating industry and boating public.


Contact: Rachel Harmon


2024: Dave Livingston, Fluid Motion

Dave Livingston

2023: John McKnight, NMMA

John Mcknight

2020: Carl Blackwell, NMMA and Joe Lewis, Mount Dora Boating Center & Marina

Carl Blackwell
Joe Lewis

2018: Tom Marhevko, NMMA and Phil Cappel, USCG

Phil Cappel
Tom Marhevko

2013: Capt. Joe Frohnhoefer, CEO and Founder, Sea Tow Services International

Capt. Joe Frohnoefer

2012: Geoff Eisenberg, President and CEO, West Marine; and Randy Repass, Founder, West Marine

Geoff Eisenberg
Randy Repass

2011: Ralph Lambrecht

Ralph Lambrecht

2005: Richard Schwartz, Chairman and Founder, BoatU.S.

Richard Schwartz

2004: Skip Allen, Sr., Southern Boating

Skip Allen, Sr.

2003: Lars Granholm, Chairman, IMCI

Lars Granholm

2002: R.C. “Dick” Rowe, Chairman and President, Indmar

Dick Rowe

2001: Jean-Jacques “J.J.” Marie, Zodiac of America

Jean-Jacques “J.J.” Marie

2000: Bob and Bill Healey, Viking Yachts

Bob and Bill Healey

1999: United States Coast Guard

United States Coast Guard

1998: Jeff Napier, NMMA President 1980–1998

Jeff Napier

1997: United States Power Squadrons

United States Power Squadrons

1996: Lysle Gray, Former ABYC Executive Director

Lysle Gray

1995: Robert Cox, Chairman of the Board, Lauderdale Marina, Inc.

Robert Cox

1994: Ham Hamberger, CEO, Tracker Marine

Ham Hamberger

1993: Don Rocheleau, Chairman/CEO, Attwood Corp.

Don Rocheleau

1992: Robert Nordskog, Former Publisher, Powerboat magazine

Robert Nordskog

1991: Partners in Achievement, Scholarship Program of Chapman School of Seamanship

1990: George Van Zevern, Publisher, Boat & Motor Dealer

George Van Zevern

1989: James Lippmann, Former ABYC Executive Director

James Lippmann

1988: Charles A. Jones, Boating Industry Magazine

Charles A. Jones, 1927–1996

1987: Jules G. Fleder, Former President, Westlawn School of Yacht Design

Jules G. Fleder

1986: David R. Parker Jr., Former President of Hatteras Yachts

David R. Parker, Jr.

1985: Jim Wynne, World Class Designer, Board of Trustees, International Oceanographic Foundation

Jim Wynne, 1929-1990

1984: William (Bill) Clifford, American Waterski Association

William Clifford

1983: George M. Good, Bertram Yacht Division of Whitaker Marine

George M. Good, 1904-2000

1982: Alan J. Freedman, Aqua Meter Instrument Corp.

Alan J. Freedman, 1923-1982

1981: William (Bill) Shaw, Pearson Yachts Division of Grumman Corp.

William Shaw

1980: James R. McQueen Jr., Trojan Yachts, mst recently Chris Craft

James R. McQueen, Jr.

1979: E.C. (Carl) Kiekhaefer, Kiekhaefer Aeromarine Motors

Carl Kiekhaefer, 1906–1983

1978: Ralph Thacher, Burr Bros. Boats

Ralph Thacher

1977: J.T. Lowe, Jacksonville (FL) Marine Association

J.T. Lowe

1976 Inaugural Award: Ralph Evinrude, Outboard Marine Corp.

Ralph Evinrude, 1907–1986