Charles Chapman Award

The Charles Chapman Award honors individuals or groups within the marine industry who have made outstanding contributions to the sport of boating for the benefit of the recreational boating industry and boating public.


Contact: Rachel Harmon
National Marine Manufacturers Association
Charles Chapman Award
231 South LaSalle Street, Suite 2050
Chicago, IL 60604
Phone: 312.946.6247
View past recipients of this prestigious award.

1996: Lysle Gray, Former ABYC Executive Director

Lysle Gray

Lysle Gray’s accomplishments include serving as chief of the U.S. Coast Guard’s Product Safety Assurance branch from 1973–1987. He was responsible for promoting modern safety standard. Gray’s work leading a team of specialist to develop standards for fuel, electrical, level floatation, ventilation, start-in-gear protection and capacity labeling has had a profound effect on the record of boating safety.