Alan J. Freedman Memorial Leadership Award

Recipients of the NMMA Freedman Award are individuals who, in the course of their careers, have made outstanding contributions to the marine accessories industry through leadership, creativity, and personal motivation.  The following are the categories for consideration:
• Marine aftermarket or OEM manufacturer
• Marine representative
• Member of a marine-focused media
• Boat dealer
• Marine distributor
• Marine trade association staff person


Nominations to the 2025 awards program will open Summer 2024.

To nominate a worthy industry leader:

  • Nominators must belong to a member company and be in good standing with NMMA.
  • Submit the official nomination form.
  • Submit supporting material to enhance the nomination. Supporting material includes, but not limited to; an enhanced career timeline and accomplishments, articles about the nominee and letters of support. Supporting materials should be received digitally through the provided file share link by the entry deadline.

Nominators will be notified of award status in January 2025.


The 2025 Alan J. Freedman Award will be presented during the Miami Industry Breakfast at the Miami Beach Convention Center. Tickets are required for entry.


Contact: Rachel Harmon
Email: [email protected]


View past recipients of this prestigious award.

2004: Robert W. Selig, Davis Instruments

Robert W. Selig

NMMA honored the president of Davis Instruments with the Alan J. Freedman Memorial Leadership Award.  Bob Selig received the award at the IBEX Industry Breakfast on Wednesday, October 27 2004 at the Miami Beach Convention Center.

NMMA’s Accessory Manufacturers Division (AMD) introduced the Freedman Award in 1984 to recognize individuals who, in the course of their careers, have made outstanding contributions to the marine accessories industry through leadership, creativity and personal motivation.

Selig has been deeply committed to the marine industry since 1969, the year he and his partner Jim Acquistapace purchased Davis Instruments, now located in Hayward, California.  Over the years, the company has grown into an international manufacturer of boating and navigational products, on-board vehicle computers, automotive aftermarket and OEM accessories, as well as state-of-the art computer weather stations used by agriculture, government, commercial and industrial installations. Davis Instruments currently produces more than 500 products across three business sectors.

“Bob Selig is a most deserving recipient of this award. I am pleased that the board has recognized his many contributions” says George Bellwoar, vice president of Marketing at Perko, Inc. and chairman of the AMD board.  “I have worked with Bob for a number of years on the AMD board, the NMMA board and numerous committees. He is a great example of true industry leadership. He has volunteered much of his free time to help improve our industry. He continually supports industry programs that advance recreational boating, and his passion for our industry is unequivocal.”

Since the purchase of Davis Instruments, Selig has represented the company at every NMMA trade show and at NMMA’s major consumer boat shows.  In 1991, he assumed an official leadership role when he joined the board of directors for Sail America, where he served as Treasurer. 

Selig has served on NMMA’s AMD board since 1995, including a two-year term as the AMD chair.  He has also been a member of the NMMA board of directors since 1996, serving on its executive committee, and currently as the group’s vice-chairman.

His efforts have been recognized by the National Marine Representatives Association (NMRA), which awarded him the Mel Barr Award in 1997, and by West Marine, which recognized Selig in 1998 with its Lifetime Achievement Award for Service to the Marine Industry.