Alan J. Freedman Memorial Leadership Award

Recipients of the NMMA Freedman Award are individuals who, in the course of their careers, have made outstanding contributions to the marine accessories industry through leadership, creativity, and personal motivation.  The following are the categories for consideration:
• Marine aftermarket or OEM manufacturer
• Marine representative
• Member of a marine-focused media
• Boat dealer
• Marine distributor
• Marine trade association staff person


Nominations are being accepted to the 2022 awards program through December 23, 2021. Download the formal application, complete it in full and submit, along with additional support material, to Rachel Harmon. Supporting material for consideration would be referencing additional industry affiliation(s), articles about the nominee, letters of support, etc. All nominations will be reviewed following the December 23 deadline. Nominators will be notified in January 2022. 


The 2022 Alan J. Freedman Award will be presented during the Miami Industry Breakfast on Thursday, February 17, 2022.


Contact Rachel Harmon at



View past recipients of this prestigious award.

2002: Lew Haeck, Attwood Corporation

Lew Haeck

Mr. Haeck has served two terms for a total of six years on NMMA’s Accessory Manufacturer Division Board along with chairing that Board for two years. He also has served on the NMMA Board and was NMMA Chairman from 1995 to 1997.

During his time as Chairman, he was instrumental in bringing about the new consolidated format of the three divisions that make up NMMA.

Lew has been a stalwart supporter of the boating industry, the accessory business and NMMA since arriving at Attwood in the sales and marketing area. He became Vice President of Operations in 1979, Senior Vice President in 1990, President and COO in 1993, and President and CEO in 1999.