Alan J. Freedman Memorial Leadership Award

Recipients of the NMMA Freedman Award are individuals who, in the course of their careers, have made outstanding contributions to the marine accessories industry through leadership, creativity, and personal motivation.  The following are the categories for consideration:
• Marine aftermarket or OEM manufacturer
• Marine representative
• Member of a marine-focused media
• Boat dealer
• Marine distributor
• Marine trade association staff person


Nominations are being accepted to the 2022 awards program through December 23, 2021. Download the formal application, complete it in full and submit, along with additional support material, to Rachel Harmon. Supporting material for consideration would be referencing additional industry affiliation(s), articles about the nominee, letters of support, etc. All nominations will be reviewed following the December 23 deadline. Nominators will be notified in January 2022. 


The 2022 Alan J. Freedman Award will be presented during the Miami Industry Breakfast on Thursday, February 17, 2022.


Contact Rachel Harmon at

View past recipients of this prestigious award.

1998: Allen Freeman, Spartan Products

Allen Freeman

The 1997 recipient of the Alan Freedman award was Allen Freeman of Spartan Products, trailer manufacturers of the Spartan and Gator brands.

“For close to 40 years, Allen with his brothers, Arthur and Earl, have built a reputable family business which has taken a leadership roll in trailer design, safety and certification,” said Accessory manufacturing division chairman Ken Garelick, in presenting the Award. “The Freeman’s support of and time devoted to our industry and its issues are — unquestionably — exceptional. He is involved and effective.”