Together, making boating the preferred choice in recreation

2015 Alan J. Freedman Memorial Award - Call for Nominations

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2015 Alan J. Freedman Memorial Leadership Award.  Recipients of the NMMA Freedman Award are individuals who, in the course of their careers, have made outstanding contributions to the marine accessories industry through leadership, creativity, and personal motivation.  The following are the categories for consideration:
• Marine aftermarket or OEM manufacturer
• Marine representative
• Member of a marine-focused media
• Boat dealer
• Marine distributor
• Marine trade association staff person

To nominate an individual, please complete and submit the formal application along with any supporting documentation highlighting specific accomplishments, letters of endorsement and other pertinent details to Bryan Welsh, Director, Member Services.  The due date for nominations is November 14th, 2014, without exception.  If you have any questions about the award or process, please contact Bryan Welsh directly.

The 2015 Alan J. Freedman Memorial Leadership Award will be presented at the Miami International Boat Show on Thursday, February 12th, 2015 during the Industry Press Breakfast.

Submissions and Questions:
Bryan Welsh
Director, Member Services
231 S. LaSalle St
Suite 2050
Chicago, IL 60604
Direct - 312.946.6276

Below you can learn about the 2014 Alan J. Freedman Memorial Leadership Award recipient, Scott M. Lewit, President of Structural Composites, Inc. and COMPSYS, Inc., as well as recipients for the past 30 years.


2014 Alan Freedman Award Recipient:

Scott M. Lewit, President of Structural Composites, Inc. and COMPSYS, Inc.

The National Marine Manufacturers Association (NMMA) honored Scott M. Lewit, president and founding partner of Structural Composites, Inc. and COMPSYS, Inc., with the 2014 Alan J. Freedman Memorial Leadership Award. Lewit received the award during the State of the Recreational Boating Industry Breakfast held at the Progressive Insurance Miami International Boat Show & Strictly Sail on February 13th, 2014.

NMMA’s Accessory Manufacturers Division (AMD) introduced the Freedman Award in 1984 to recognize individuals who, throughout the course of their careers, have made outstanding contributions to the marine accessories industry through leadership, creativity and personal motivation.

In addition to his role as founder and president of Structural Composites, Inc. and COMPSYS, Inc., Lewit currently serves as the Chairman of the Board of Directors for Energy Florida.  He is also a long-serving member of the Executive Steering Committee for the TCC which is the technical resource for the Navy Center of Excellence for Composites Manufacturing. Prior to founding Structural Composites (1987), a marine technology corporation, and COMPSYS (1992), specializing in composites technology which has provided parts to more than 250,000 boats, he was a Senior Scientist for Planning Systems, Inc., providing support to the U.S. Navy at the Coastal Systems Station in Panama City, Fla. 

Lewit was a principle in developing the composites training program for the American Boat and Yacht Council (ABYC) in 2003. What’s more, Lewit is co-inventor of the resin recirculation molding process and the patented PRISMA preform technology. He is also the inventor of the patent pending co-cure strain tunable resin and gel coat technology.

“There are few who have contributed as significantly to the marine composites industry as Scott Lewit—he has been a true visionary throughout his 30-year career,” said Greg Lentine, president of Norcross Marine Products and Past Chairman of NMMA’s AMD Board of Directors. “Today we recognize his commitment to the marine industry, as well as his substantial work across industries, the local business community and his country, which have earned him international recognition and respect among his colleagues.”

Lewit has 14 issued patents, was a contributing editor for Composites Manufacturing magazine for more than a decade, and served on the Society of Manufacturing Engineers Advisory Board, as well as the Technical Advisory Committee, CCT Steering Committee and Magazine Steering Committee of the Composite Fabricators Association. 

“Scott has added value to the marine industry by redefining boat construction to address key industry issues, such as cost reduction and improved fuel efficiency,” said T. Roger Manley, professor emeritus, Florida Institute of Technology, who nominated Lewit for the Award. “He is an innovative researcher, as well as manufacturing process designer and engineer, whose work continues to help American industry reduce environmental impact.”

In October 2013, he was awarded Entrepreneur of the Year at the Florida TechXpo and presented with a Congressional Medal of Merit from Congressman Bill Posey. He has served on the Environmental Protection Agency’s Marine Manufacturing Maximum Achievable Control Technology (MACT) Stakeholders’ Committee for closed molding and co-chairs for materials in the U.S. Navy’s high-speed sealift initiative. He was managing director for the U.S. Navy’s Marine Composites Technology Center, where he also served as chairman of the Executive Steering Committee in 2002.

Lewit earned his Master of Science and Bachelor of Science degrees from the Florida Institute of Technology. 

© National Marine Manufacturers Association • 231 S. LaSalle Street, Suite 2050, Chicago, IL 60604 • 312.946.6200