To help NMMA certified boat and yacht manufacturers identify and use equipment that meets the applicable American Boat and Yacht Council (ABYC) standards and the U.S. Coast Guard regulations, NMMA requires that certain components be NMMA Type Accepted when used on NMMA Certified boats and yachts.

To become Type Accepted, a component manufacturer must submit comprehensive test reports demonstrating compliance to the respective ABYC standards, along with the annual agreement and fee to NMMA. Component testing may be conducted at qualified independent laboratories, or in-house testing facilities.

Note: NMMA does not accept CE Certification or test results to any standards other than ABYC.

The following is a list of marine components eligible for Type Acceptance:

  • Bilge Pumps
  • Bilge Blowers
  • Fuel hoses
  • Fuel tanks
  • Horns
  • Navigation Lights
  • Steering Helms
  • Steering Wheels

The Type Accepted list is updated regularly, and published for the mandatory use of all NMMA Certified Boat and Yacht manufacturers when applying for NMMA Boat and Yacht Certification. Current Type Accepted Components are listed below.