Alan J. Freedman Memorial Leadership Award

Recipients of the NMMA Freedman Award are individuals who, in the course of their careers, have made outstanding contributions to the marine accessories industry through leadership, creativity, and personal motivation.  The following are the categories for consideration:
• Marine aftermarket or OEM manufacturer
• Marine representative
• Member of a marine-focused media
• Boat dealer
• Marine distributor
• Marine trade association staff person


To be eligible to nominate an individual, one must be an active member in good standing with NMMA. Nominations are closed for 2018.


The 2018 Alan J. Freedman Memorial Leadership Award will be presented at the Miami International Boat Show on Friday, February 16th, 2018 during the Innovation Breakfast.  


Contact: Rachel Harmon
National Marine Manufacturers Association
Alan J. Freedman Memorial Leadership Nomination
231 South LaSalle Street, Suite 2050
Chicago, IL 60604
Phone: 312.946.6247



View past recipients of this prestigious award.

1996: Thomas H. Lorenz, Sr., Lorenz & Jones, Inc.

Thomas H. Lorenz, Sr.

In presenting this year’s Freedman Award, Ken Garelick, then chairman of the Accessory Manufacturers Division recognized Tom Lorenz’s lifelong dedication and contributions to the industry through leadership of his successful Iowa-based family business, Lorenz & Jones, which distributes marine accessories throughout the Midwest.

Further, Garelick noted that “Tom has personally devoted a great deal of energy to support the distribution of marine accessories nationally, by being involved in the National Marine Distributors Association and other organizations endorsing recreational boating”.