Alan J. Freedman Memorial Leadership Award

Recipients of the NMMA Freedman Award are individuals who, in the course of their careers, have made outstanding contributions to the marine accessories industry through leadership, creativity, and personal motivation.  The following are the categories for consideration:
• Marine aftermarket or OEM manufacturer
• Marine representative
• Member of a marine-focused media
• Boat dealer
• Marine distributor
• Marine trade association staff person


Nominations to the 2022 program will open for acceptance Fall 2021.


Contact: Rachel Harmon
National Marine Manufacturers Association
Alan J. Freedman Memorial Leadership Nomination
View past recipients of this prestigious award.

2007: Bob Latham, Latham Marine, Inc.

Bob Latham

Bob Latham is one of the most innovative problem solvers in the marine industry. He single-handedly improved the safety of performance boats when he developed the first successful hydraulic steering system for offshore racing nearly 30 years ago. Since then his products have ensured that all performance boaters can run at higher speeds safely.

Under Bob’s leadership, Latham Marine has developed a full array of performance and safety enhancing products, including steering systems, drive spacers, trim tabs, water pickups and other accessories. These achievements are all the more remarkable because Mr. Latham designed and developed them on his own. He began repairing performance boats as a teenager and through his creativity and perseverance grew Latham Marine into the successful and widely respected company it is today.