Alan J. Freedman Memorial Leadership Award

Recipients of the NMMA Freedman Award are individuals who, in the course of their careers, have made outstanding contributions to the marine accessories industry through leadership, creativity, and personal motivation.  The following are the categories for consideration:
• Marine aftermarket or OEM manufacturer
• Marine representative
• Member of a marine-focused media
• Boat dealer
• Marine distributor
• Marine trade association staff person


To be eligible to nominate an individual, one must be an active member in good standing with NMMA. Nominees must fufill the above categories for consideration.
Nominations are closed and will open in November 2018.


Contact: Rachel Harmon
National Marine Manufacturers Association
Alan J. Freedman Memorial Leadership Nomination
231 South LaSalle Street, Suite 2050
Chicago, IL 60604
Phone: 312.946.6247

View past recipients of this prestigious award.

1997: Darrell Lowrance, Lowrance Electronics, Inc.

Darrell Lowrance

With his father, Darrell Lowrance co-founded his family’s electronics firm 40 years ago by introducing the first sport fishing sonar instruments capable of detecting individual fish. Lowrance has served as president and CEO since 1964.

In presenting the honor, Ken Garelick, then chairman of the NMMA-affiliated Accessory Manufacturers Division, said of Lowrance: “Through innovation and perseverance, his company has grown to worldwide prominence in the recreational and sportfishing markets. His support and involvement in our industry dates back to the beginning of his company, as he has always been an advocate of boating and fishing, working to strengthen our industry and its associations”.